Volume 4 Issue 1

JeffCo Superstars

Colorado Bandmasters Association gave retired D’Evelyn teacher, Steve Martin, the 2017 Hall of Fame award. He led the D’Evelyn marching band to five state 2A titles.

Congratulations to last years’ Conifer DECA participants. Conifer had the highest percentage of state qualifiers from the district conference, and they sent 15 students to the International Career Development Conference in Anaheim: Elle Hickman, Alissa Searcy, Nicholas Faraco-Hadlock, Kendall Benton, Merisa Trujillo, Jake Esposito, Mia Miller, Mason Meyer, Abe Martin, Piper Richey, Rachael Long, Ryan Dean, Jake Borchard, Jon Tyus and Austin Brown.

Additionally students racked up the most community service hours in the district, and the chapter received national recognition on the growth in members. Teacher/advisor Amber Hall was named New Marketing Teacher of the Year for Colorado DECA.

Prudential Spirit of Community Awards recognized Jeffco graduate Emma Albertoni, Ralston Valley, as a state honoree, for working to improve financial literacy education and Andrew Kent, Virtual Academy, as a distinguished finalist, for his work with the organization Love-Hope-Strength signing up donors for the national bone marrow registry—more than 1,500 people with 35 matches to date.

Arvada West’s Vocal Showcase Choir and Chris Maunu, Director of Choral Studies, was the first Jeffco choir and only the third Colorado Choir, to perform at the 2017 National American Choral Director’s Association Conference, the highest honor for a high school choir in the United States.

Congratulations to Jeffco’s 2017 Boettcher scholars: Benjamin Powell (Conifer), Shamik Bhat (Golden), Spencer Narowetz (Jefferson Academy), and Jon Abrahamson, Troy Jackson, and Dakota Kisling (all from Lakewood).