Volume 3 Issue 3

Jeffco Superstars

Bear Creek High School social studies teacher Jose Martinez III is one of three 2016 Colorado Teacher of the Year finalists.

Jeffco 2015 graduate Luke Sabey/Virtual Academy is a gold medal winner in Auto Collision Repair at the national SkillsUSA competition through Jeffco’s Warren Tech program.

Mt. Carbon Elementary teacher Johnny Arnold and Hutchinson Elementary teacher Debbie Lawson were honored with the 9News Teachers Who Care award in May.

Two Jeffco high schools were named to the 2015 Newsweek’s Top 500. Congratulations to D’Evelyn Junior/Senior High and Jefferson Academy Secondary

Jefferson County Open School was a Gold Recognition recipient in the National Education Policy Center’s Schools of Opportunity project. This project works to identify and recognize public high schools that seek to close opportunity gaps through practices “that build on students’ strengths.”

Seven Destination Imagination teams from Jeffco Schools qualified at the state level competition to compete in the Global Finals held in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Correction: In the August issue, we incorrectly congratulated the Green Mountain High School boys’ basketball team. It was the Green Mountain High School boys’ baseball team which won the 4A state championship for the second year in a row. They are coached by Brad Madden.